History of the Wiltz Tanneries

The building of the Hotel-Restaurant "Aux Tanneries de Wiltz" is a central element of the cultural heritage of the city of Wiltz and the north of the Grand Duchy. Built in 1735, during the Austrian period, its walls have witnessed leather production for almost 200 years. Leatherworking in the workshops along the river Wiltz dates back to the 16th century.

In 1868, there were 28 tanneries in town, two of which survived into the second half of the 20th century. After the First World War, most of the small factories ceased production and the building of the present hotel, which was initially converted into a garage for trucks, was gradually abandoned.

Today all this belongs to history. Wiltz has seen the development of other sectors, such as the tertiary sector and culture, but its population keeps the memory of its ancestors alive, to think of the harsh conditions they faced in their daily work, or to commemorate their opposition to the occupier during the Second World War.

In 1994, Henri Roemer, a native of Wiltz, undertook an ambitious renovation project in order to reawaken the potential and soul of this old building. The architect has preserved the exterior aspect of the old ruined buildings to recreate a harmonious ensemble facing the river and centered around the real heart of the hotel: its restaurant. It has all the charm of the old tanneries that its vaulted stone walls once housed.

In 2009, the hotel was extended with an annex to increase the hotel's capacity and offer modern service and reception. A swimming pool, a sauna, and hammam as well as a fitness center complete the offer for our guests.

After 26 years of work, Henri passes the torch to his son Charles who, having grown up with this project, shares the awareness of the need to preserve and develop this jewel of local heritage.

en_GBEN

Historique des Tanneries de Wiltz

Le bâtiment de L’Hôtel-Restaurant « Aux Tanneries de Wiltz » est un élément central du patrimoine culturel de la ville de Wiltz et du nord du Grand-Duché. Construit en 1735, durant la période autrichienne, ses murs ont été les témoins de la production de cuir durant près de 200 ans. Le travail du cuir dans les ateliers se situant le long de la rivière Wiltz remonte au 16e siècle.

En 1868, la ville comptait 28 tanneries dont deux ont survécu jusque dans la deuxième moitié du 20e siècle. Après la Première Guerre Mondiale, la plupart des petites usines ont arrêté leur production et le bâtiment de l’actuel hôtel, reconverti dans un premier temps en garage pour camions, a progressivement été laissé à l’abandon.

Aujourd’hui tout cela appartient à l’histoire. Wiltz a vu se développer d’autres secteurs, notamment le secteur tertiaire et la culture, mais sa population maintient la mémoire de ses ancêtres, pour penser aux dures conditions qu’ils affrontaient dans leur travail quotidien ou pour commémorer leur opposition à l’Occupant durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

C’est en 1994 qu’Henri Roemer, originaire de Wiltz, entreprit un ambitieux projet de rénovation afin de réveiller le potentiel et l’âme de cette ancienne bâtisse. L’architecte a conservé l’aspect extérieur des anciens édifices en ruine pour recréer un ensemble harmonieux en face de la rivière et qui s’articule autour du véritable cœur de l’hôtel : son restaurant. On y retrouve tout le charme des anciennes tanneries que ses murs voûtés en pierre avaient jadis abritées.

En 2009, l’hôtel fut agrandi d’une annexe permettant d’augmenter la capacité hotellière et de proposer un service et un accueil moderne. Une piscine, un sauna et hammam ainsi qu’un fitness, complètent l’offre pour les hôtes les plus exigeants.

Après 26 ans de travail, Henri passe le flambeau à son fils Charles qui, ayant grandi avec ce projet, partage la conscience du besoin de conserver et de développer ce fleuron du patrimoine local.

fr_FRFR
fr_FRFR en_GBEN de_DEDE nl_NLNL